Sir Derek Plumbly, KCMG


  • His Holiness Pope Tawadros II Pope of Alexandria and Patriarch of the See of Saint Mark
  • His Grace Bishop Mattaos, Abbot of Deir al Surian
  • The Viscount Portman
  • The Earl of Crawford and Balcarres, KT GCVO
  • Lady Plumbly
  • Count Adam Zamoyski
  • Prof. Lucas van Rompay
  • Dr Sebastian Brock
  • William Dalrymple
  • Philippa Dods John, MBE

Staff & Trustees


Chief Executive
Elizabeth Sobczynski, ACR ICON, ICOM


Nigel Pilkington, Chair
Paul Meitner, Honorary Treasurer
Tara Dudley Smith, Secretary
Suzanne Press
Dr. Rami Albatal

Auditors UK
Dub & Co
7 Torriano Mews
London NW5 2RZ

Barclays Bank PLC UK


Beth Nougaim, Honorary Director
Nevene Sami, Executive Secretary

Auditors Egypt
Aseal Heida Consulting AHC
25 Mecca st. Mohandessin – Giza

Legal Advisers, Egypt
Zaki Hashem Partners Attorneys at Law
23 Kasr El Nil Street, Cairo

Partners and Collaborators

  • The Deir al-Surian Monastery, Egypt
  • The Coptic Museum, Egypt
  • The Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities, Egypt
  • The University of Leiden, The Netherlands
  • The National Library and Archives, Egypt
  • The Sawiris Foundation for Social Development, Egypt
  • The Supreme Council of Antiquities (the Ministry of Antiquities), Egypt
  • Dr Denis Nosnitsin, Asien-Afrika-Institut, Hiob-Ludolf-Zentrumf├╝r ├äthiopistik, The University of Hamburg, Germany
  • The Egypt Exploration Society (EES), Egypt
  • Recanati e Restauro, Italy
  • Emeritus Dr Sebastian Brock, Oxford University, UK
  • Emeritus Professor Lucas van Rompay, Duke University, USA
  • Dr Yury Arzhanov, Austrian Academy of Science, Austria
  • Fr Bigoul, Former Librarian of Deir al-Surian Monastery, Egypt
  • Dr Mat Immerzeel, VU, Vrije Universiteit Amstardam, The Netherlands